mommy issues

     I promise that next week we will return to laughing. But I wanted to pass this along.

I love the beauty that can come from embracing new ways of thinking. I have not once had a significant moment of healing while at the same time believing what i have always believed.

 My fundamentalist DNA has a instinct to repel at the word feminist, now it is a gift, a vehicle of healing.
I remember adamantly defending a patriarchal view of God and the bible. Just today I heard someone refer to a husband as “hen-pecked”, but a woman who does not declare her wants and needs is submissive?

 Not sure how you feel about the male/female conversation and how it relates to the God who made us in His image, but I appreciated the following devotional from Richard Rohr. It sounds like a healing opportunity.

http://conta.cc/Jton0V

THE MATERNAL FACE OF GOD

Historically speaking, in our culture the role of men has been to create, to make new things, to fix broken things, and to defend us from things which could hurt us. All of these are wonderful and necessary roles for the preservation of the human race.

However, most children saw their mother in a different way. She was not a creator, a fixer, or a defender, but rather a transformer. Once a woman has carried her baby inside of her body for nine months and brought it forth, through the pain of childbirth, into the world, she knows the mystery of transformation at a cellular level. She knows it intuitively, yet she cannot verbalize it. She just holds it at a deeper level of consciousness. She knows something about mystery, about miracles, and about transformation that men will never know (which is why males had to be initiated!). Women who are not mothers often learn it by simply being in the “community of women.”

The feminine body can be seen as a cauldron of transformation. Her body turns things into other things—her body turns a love act into a perfect little child. Yet, in her heart, she knows SHE did not do it. All she had to do was to wait and eat well, to believe and to hope for nine months. This gives a woman a very special access to understanding spirituality as transformation—if she is able to listen.

Adapted from The Maternal Face of God
(available in On Transformation: Collected Talks, Volume 1 (CD))

Prayer:
Oh God, show me your Your face.

This entry was posted in Christian Culture, healing, womens issues and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to mommy issues

  1. Up until last month, I thought the gender talks were a little much. I didn’t want to ride that bus, I didn’t want to struggle for power in church leadership (see, my understanding was off). Then I read Matt Chandler’s book, The Explicit Gospel. I was loving it. Until he talked about women’s ministry hijacking a Psalm and that the meaning of that Scripture was much weightier than how women used it. My heart began to race and my blood pressure was rising even as I read his “weighty interpretation” of the Scripture–which was SO OBVIOUS, I wondered if he just assumed women were idiots and couldn’t read the Word without a man interpreting it for them.
    That word, hijacked, just ate away at me. As if women took a Scripture that didn’t belong to them??? Oh!!! Man, I was fired up. But I finished the book, and toward the end he stated his position that women were created to help men become all that they were designed to be in the image of God. And I about fainted. Mostly, I felt sorry for his wife. I also thought, “WTF?!!! Lord, if that truly does honor you, please show me.” Well, he seems to be confirming for me the hypocrisy of that theology. What I really appreciate are the men who support the idea that Jesus is a feminist. Cause he sure did act like one!

    • justmomtoo says:

      Erin, all I can say is: Oooooohhhhh Emmmmmmm Geeeeeeeee!!!! How does this stuff even get published? It is just toxic.

  2. karlw says:

    i cannot tell you how remorseful i feel at all the crap i have said so convincingly that makes me cringe now! i am so happy you are finding your voice and power
    Just wait till the Jesus is a Sissy blog comes out….

  3. stacymichelle says:

    Oh this was so good, and I love your style for sure. I know that ths wasn’t your *main” point, but this line really struck me: “I love the beauty that can come from embracing new ways of thinking. I have not once had a significant moment of healing while at the same time believing what i have always believed.”

    In my current world of dealing with the depth of personal cognitive disortions, this really struck me. Man is that brain a powerful, yet scary place. Makes me think of one of my favorite Anne Lamott quotes “My mind is a dangerous neighborhood that I don’t like to go alone.” 🙂

    • karlw says:

      healing and the vehicle it comes in looks so different for all us, but the vehicle usually has other passengers! you are such a tool for healing to so many, and like all of us in equal need. glad to be part of your team!

  4. Thanks so much Karl. Under your blog there was an advertisement..a short film by Ron Howard..about two sisters and their Mom. It was exactly what my sister & I needed to watch since our Mom passed away and thinking of her this recent Mom’s Day. It’s been 11 years since she passed. This short film helped us to remember her love.
    Karl…thanks for starting your blog… God is always loving us : )
    Irene
    p.s. here’s the link to the short film…
    http://www.youtube.com/user/Imagination?feature=watch

    • karlw says:

      thanks irene for and for checking in. hey, i did not know they put advertisements on blogs?
      oh, well i am new to all of this.
      peace my sister

  5. judybonnell says:

    I found your blog! I have been thinking about your teaching yesterday at BV! Wow! You certainly make us think! Come back soon. I will enjoy reading your blog. By the way, I read a blog called The Gypsy Mama. She has bloggers use a word every Friday, for example: empty, perspective, community, and write for 5 minutes then link it up to your blog. I thought that you might be interested since you mentioned you were going to write even though you don’t think you are a writer.

Leave a Reply

